Catch Up Post 2

8/1- I seem to be more visually interested in things around me today; much less diffusion and more sketching.

  • I think I had a flash of clearer vision today at the gym while I was slowly sketching a wall design.
  • I have decided to start doing: 50/50 infinity long swings/infinity sways + palming (morning), 50/50 long swings/sways + palming (evening).

8/3- I started doing more shifting instead of sketching.  I move my eyes around to trace details while my head movement is used to change the direction of my attention (visual window).

8/9- I had my best clear flash so far today after palming for several minutes.  I focused on relaxing my neck and eye muscles when I exhaled; this is similar to the C-R method used in my stretching book (Stretching & Flexibility by Kit Laughlin).  The clearness gradually faded away over a few blinks.

I also decided to make a beginning visual acuity (VA) measurement with an eye chart that is designed for use at 10 feet, but lists the measurement equivalents for 20 ft.  Beginning VA at 10 ft., indoors = a blurry 20/400.

8/11- I had a good clear flash after palming and focusing on relaxing my neck and eye muscles.  I glanced at the eye chart and could see all the letters on the 20/160 line crystal clear.  I probably could have read lower lines if the flash had lasted long enough for me to check.  Like the last clear flash, the clearness gradually faded over a few blinks; although, it was slightly longer this time (approximately 3-5 s.)  Palming has allowed my eyes to relax and see the clearest of any other vision activities I have/currently use.

Also, during the clear flash, I could see the principle of centralization at work; only that line I saw clearly, and especially the center letter, was crystal clear.  It is very easy to remember what that line looked like.  Anyway, seeing the results I have gotten with palming, I will try to do this activity more often.

As a note, I proved to myself that this flash was not the result of excess tearing (since it lasted for a few blinks) nor the pinhole effect (I tried squinting at the chart afterward, and the line was readable but definitely not as clear as before).

8/14- I received my glasses from Zenni Optical today in the mail!  The Rx I ordered was:

Rx 8/14

The strange thing is that I can read the 20/20 line indoors on my chart the same, or slightly better, than with my full prescription glasses.  However, objects in the distance are still slightly blurry, compared to very clear with my stronger glasses.  Maybe this difference is because I am using a 10 ft., not a 20 ft., chart.  I have put away my other glasses and will only use the new ones, at least until I get a 20/80 pair for close work as recommended by Quackenbush.

8/19- I have started doing my swings and palming while standing close to the chart (3′ 3 3/4″).  At the start of my vision activities today, I could just barely read the 20/200 line.  However, while doing the long swing, I could easily read the letters of the 125 line.  Overall, the letters on the chart seemed clearer after the activities.  When I am able to read the chart a little clearer with the activities, I will stand back a little further.

8/27- I now do 50 long swings/sways before bed, and palming, at my spot close to the chart.  Today the letters of the 20/80 line would flash clear as I blinked.  I continue to try to shift, breathe, and blink for the entire day, and these seem to happen more naturally now than they used to.  I also try to keep my mind and muscles relaxed when I am aware.

6 thoughts on “Catch Up Post 2

  1. Linda says:

    Hi I’m wondering why didn’t you adjust the cylinder and axis? Your training glasses seem to not following the same cylinger and axis? Is there a reason for it?

  2. mark825 says:

    I decided to drop the cylinder and axis (astigmatism correction) from my newer glasses based on two sources of information. First, other vision improvement bloggers with low astigmatism corrections did this and did not see any major difference. Second, this article- http://www.visioneducators.org/reducedlenses.htm – suggests that if the the cylinder is less than or equal to 1.00 diopeter, you should drop the correction; if the cylinder is greater than 1.00 diopeter, you should reduce it by half (the article is based on information that Tom Quackenbush told to someone). Without the cylinder in my new reduced lenses, I did not see any difference while using them.

  3. Linda says:

    Thanks, 🙂 I think I will try it too.
    How is using the long distance and close work glasses going?
    I’ve tried going without, but noticed throughout the day my eyes get tired around end of the day. And I rather not go back to full prescription for driving…20/40 sounds good though. How did you calculate that?

  4. mark825 says:

    Using the two strengths of glasses works well for me. I use the distance pair for driving and seeing the projector screens at school; I use the close pair for the computer. The rest of the time, I usually don’t wear any correction.
    I estimated how strong to make them by using a $5 pair of +1.00 reading glasses from Walmart. I put on my original glasses and looked at the Snellen chart (I think I saw 20/15 with them). Then, I put the reading glasses in front of the original pair on my face (I hooked the nose pads from the driving glasses over the nose bridge of the original pair). This reduced the strength of the prescription by about 1.00 diopter. I again looked at the Snellen chart and saw the difference it made (I think I saw 20/35). I used this change to figure out about how much reduction my lenses would need to see ~20/40 and ~20/80.
    A couple of other notes. Originally the right eye correction was stronger than the left by .25 diopters, but I made the corrections the same for both eyes since the difference was so small. I wanted the left and right lenses to match so that when the refractive states of my eyes were the same, the lenses would not make them unequal again. Lastly, when I began to use the ~20/40 pair for driving, it was a little weird to see with them (in order to see safely while driving, I had to constantly use correct vision habits). I’m guessing this was caused by my eyes always having 20/20 or better correction while driving; they had adapted to this condition. However, after about a week of using the reduced lenses, it was not difficult to drive with them anymore.

  5. emilylouise519 says:

    I don’t understand anything about glasses. I don’t know what the prescriptions mean, like, how they’re figured out, and I don’t know anything about axes. I just go to my handy-dandy optometrist and wear whatever he gives me. I don’t really mind much, it’s just that now I feel really stupid. Maybe you could explain it to me this weekend? I love you honey =] I’m glad you’re so smart.

  6. mark825 says:

    el519: You don’t need to feel dumb. I didn’t know about glasses prescriptions until I started reading vision books on my own. None of my optometrists ever explained it to me. I would be glad to explain it to you sometime. 🙂

Leave a Reply

