Almost 10/30

Sunday night: I practiced open focus with the Snellen chart for about 15 minutes.  I could read 10/100 at the beginning, and I could read 10/40 at the end.  The 30 line was almost readable, but I couldn’t recognize any of the letters.

Monday night: I practiced open focus with the chart for about 20 minutes.  My measurements changed from 10/100 to 10/40.  Once again, I could almost read the 30 line, but I could not identify any of the letters with confidence.  Also, if I tried to imagine the letters on the 30 line with my eyes closed, I was not able to do so.  For the last few minutes, I just blinked lightly and breathed fully while looking at the letters on the 30 line.  This seemed to clear the letters on this line the most, but not enough to recognize them.  I will try this technique the next time I practice with the Snellen and see if it still gives me good results.

2 thoughts on “Almost 10/30

  1. helenacampbell says:

    I don’t know if you have tried this, but do you ever move closer to the chart (5-7 feet) and read the 30 (or lower) lines from there, and then slowly step back? And if you can’t imagine any of the letters on the line, then you probably need to go and look at it to remember what it is.
    Also, has going without glasses been helping you with your chart work?
    –Helena

  2. mark825 says:

    -helenacampbell- I used to do all my chart work from about 4 feet, but I prefer to use it from 10 feet now. I use my Snellen chart as a distance tool, so my main goal is to read it clearly from far away.

    I agree with your point about imagining the letters. I like to learn the letters on the chart for the first time as my vision becomes clear. Then, when I am done practicing, I confirm the letters up close. I know this isn’t the only way to use the chart, but this method has worked for me so far.

    As for going without glasses, I do think it has helped me since I’ve seen improvements (on and off the chart) lately. However, I still wear my glasses more than I would like to.

Leave a Reply

