Measurements from two weeks ago…

Tuesday morning: 5/70 to 5/40

Tuesday evening: 5/70 to 5/40 (acupressure)

Wednesday morning: 10/200 to 10/50

Thursday morning: 4/62 to 4/35 (acupressure)

Thursday evening: 4/62 to 4/35 (long swings)

Friday morning: 10/80  to 10/50

Sunday morning: 6/70 to 6/40

Sunday evening: 6/100 to 6/40 (long swings)

Tuesday morning: 10/60 to 10/40

Tuesday evening: 10/60 to 10/50

Monday morning (today): 1/10 to 1/6 (long swings and acupressure)

My excuse for not posting these sooner is that I had midterms last week.  I’m going to try to post them in the format of the last measurement from now on: the day: the change in measurements (the method used to relax my mind and eyes).  I think this will be helpful because I can potentially see which vision improvement activities seem to work best for me.

Also, I thought it would be fun today to work on my close (reading distance) vision, which is why I took the measurement from 1 foot.  The chart goes down to 4 feet, so I can practice at this distance until my vision is better than that.  I hope that close measurements like this will allow me to read books and papers further away from my eyes (comfortably).  Additionally, I am trying to do all my reading (of books) at a distance where the text is blurry but still readable.  I have to use good vision habits at this distance; otherwise, I cannot read the words.  That’s pretty much all for this time.

4 thoughts on “Measurements from two weeks ago…

  1. helenacampbell says:

    Hi,
    I skimmed over the last couple of posts you made, and I like what you’re doing with short Snellen chartwork times. I also like how you are playing around with distances.

    I was curious if you noted any soreness after doing acupressure. I note this sometimes, and also some strange soreness after wearing plus lenses.

    Do you get a spring break from your school? I’m trying to use mine to spend more time working on Bates.

    –Helena

  2. mark825 says:

    – I don’t have soreness after I do acupressure on my face. My face and eyes usually feel more relaxed afterward (less muscle tension). For the plus lenses, the soreness is probably just caused by the same reason strong negative lenses will make your eyes sore- they force your eyes to stay in a specific shape even if the shape would be different without the glasses (for that distance).

    – I’m actually on my spring break this week (now it’s almost over 😦 ). I also was hoping to do more vision practice, but I’ve actually just ended up doing less. Basically, I’ve been playing on my Xbox and using my computer a lot (for fun things, not work) because I haven’t been able to do those things for all of/ the majority of the past semester. I seem to do better with my Snellen readings when I have a schedule for each day like I do during normal school weeks. Oh, well. 😐

  3. helenacampbell says:

    Can’t say I disapprove of playing Xbox. 🙂
    I hope that you are being as relaxed as possible while doing these things–good posture especially, and pausing the game to stretch, or walk around the room.
    Do you ever wear your full-strength glasses anymore? Probably while driving, right? I read on how you seemed to be able to read an inch farther, things seemed slightly clearer, that sort of thing. This happened to me, and I didn’t think there was measurable difference, but it turned out for me there was. You want to avoid overcorrection of course, so I don’t know if you want to pay for an eye exam (or a focometer, like Sassy has) but maybe you can find a free service.
    Enjoy the rest of your spring break! Seems like even during break I have lots of work to do. 😦

  4. mark825 says:

    I try to be relaxed while playing my Xbox, but I know I could do better. And I never where my full-strength glasses. Since I received my new pair (-4.25 in both lenses) I have only used those for seeing in the distance and driving. I even drive at night with them. I tried on my full-strength glasses a few weeks ago just to see how I saw with them, and they were WAY too strong. 🙂 I’m sure that they pushed my vision past 20/20, and I could not wear them for very long. It was as bad as when I first put them on at the optometrist’s office. So I guess that at least shows progress from when I started.

Leave a Reply

