My new glasses

Wednesday: 10/200 to 10/40 (palming)

Tuesday: Test for new distance glasses, 10/20 with a few letters on the 15 line; Test for new close work glasses, 10/40 (I read half of the letters on that line)

Distance Pair:

Glasses Rx- June 18

Close Work Pair:

Glasses Rxc- June 18

I got my new glasses in the mail today, and they are the exact strengths I estimated for them. 😀 The distance pair lets me see about 20/40 and the close work pair lets me see about 20/80.  I’ve already used the distance pair for some driving earlier today, and the close pair is working fine for the computer now.  I’m glad that my eyes will have to relax more for me to see clearly through them. 🙂

I’m still working on the same habits from my last post, which I’ve realized are a lot like Quackenbush’s three recommended habits: sketch, breath, and blink.  I’ve been working on breathing fully and blinking frequently also, so I’m more closely following Quackenbush.  However, I’m also closing my eyes and relaxing a few times an hour.

I’ve been working on improving my vision for a while, and based on this experience I seem to think that the requirements are pretty simple.  I would list the five conditions needed for a permanent improvement in one’s vision as: being overall relaxed mentally and physically, practicing Quackenbush’s three habits (sketch, breathe, blink), wearing no glasses or reducing the strength of one’s glasses over time, practicing with the Snellen chart each day, and being patient.  As long as you meet these conditions, I’m sure your vision will improve in time. 🙂

2 thoughts on “My new glasses

  1. dreamersight says:

    Mark,
    Good for you — you are making great progress. I really like your summary of the necessary habits, especially the mention of patience. I don’t know if I’ll be able to drive without glasses in a year, or 2 years, or even more — my vision is so much better than it used to be that I’m not focused on the timeframe. Maybe when I see Peter Grunwald at the Eyebody workshop in 2 weeks I’ll get a miracle cure & won’t need glasses ever again! Wouldn’t that be great?

    I guess the only thing I’d add to your list of what’s necessary for vision improvement is a belief that it’s possible — maybe you didn’t include this because it’s so much a part of you now that you didn’t think of it. People who are new to this work & unsure of their ability to improve often get talked out of it by eye doctors or well-meaning friends or relatives who think they’ll damage their eyes. So you have to be steadfast in your commitment to the method. I think as people progress this happens naturally, sincer they’re seeing improvements for themselves.
    Nancy.

  2. mark825 says:

    Nancy: I agree with you. The belief that one’s vision can be improved is probably the most important condition. Without this, one would probably not put as much effort into the other conditions and might not improve their vision.

Leave a Reply

