Making my knowledge into habits

At this point in my vision improvement journey, I’ve learned all the basic principles of reaching and maintaining clear vision.  This does not mean that I will stop educating myself about the topic, as I can still learn helpful techniques and read motivating stories.  However, the basic principles of perfect sight will remain pretty much the same regardless of which new techniques I learn.

Therefore, the best thing I can do now for my vision is to put my knowledge of the principles and techniques into daily practice.  I have been wearing glasses or contacts for about a decade, so it seems reasonable to me that it will just take some time for my visual system to heal back to its previous clear state.  I’ve already improved my vision a good deal from its worst point, but it will take some time to reach the level of mostly 20/10 visual acuity.  I know this process would be quicker if I had a Bates teacher to guide and motivate me, but right now I just have myself and the online vision improvement community to support my efforts.  I would like in the future to attend a vision seminar or take a lesson from a vision teacher since I am so interested in the topic; this would be true even if I had already regained clear vision.

What I’ll be working on daily now is three main things:  1. Wear my glasses as little as possible.  2. Try to be relaxed mentally and physically all day long.  3.  Learn and practice new/known techniques either with the Snellen chart or objects in order to provide extra relief of mental strain.

I want to wish everyone good luck in the vision improvement community!  You’re all in my thoughts and prayers. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Making my knowledge into habits

  1. FMR says:

    Sounds like a plan…don’t be like I was; don’t stop doing the Bates method for a year or so, because it only works if you do it!

    By the way, we are very lucky that we’re not in the military! It’s nearly impossible to improve one’s vision in basic training from what people have told me. And googling, I found this:

    http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090514045441AARoHjS

    Doesn’t sound very good, does it?

    • mark825 says:

      That sounds pretty bad. 😦 I didn’t know that people in the military had to always wear their glasses. I guess that rule’s purpose is to make sure that they’re “always prepared” for action. Even if the glasses make it more difficult to shoot their guns. 😐

Leave a Reply

