Sketch, Breathe, Blink

I don’t have too much to say in this post.  I do still care about my vision, but I haven’t really been doing much to improve it for a while.  I know all the things I could/should do, but I’ve just been trying to work out some other areas of my life such as jobs, school, and friends.  Anyway, I don’t want my vision to completely reverse to its former state when I was the most myopic.

So, I’m just keeping it really simple for right now.  I’m working on Tom Quackenbush’s simple instructions of sketch, breathe, and blink.  I know that right now I’m not doing even these three basic things well, so I at least want to work on those three actions.  While my breathing could be fuller and I could blink more often and gently, I know that I struggle the most with the sketching part.

Keeping my eyes moving and focused on one small area best is the most difficult habit for me to learn because I am so used to just staring through my glasses and seeing “clearly”.  This staring habit is so ingrained that I don’t even realize it most of the time.  I also don’t really notice the constant dull pain in my face and eyes unless I take a moment to relax and become aware of my body’s sensations.

I’ve also been wearing my glasses so much that I can’t really think of things to do that I would still enjoy if I could not see with some degree of clarity.  I need my glasses for driving.  I wear my glasses at school to read the board, find ingredients, and look for the details of how well my food is cooked.  I wear my glasses to watch t.v. at home because I can’t really make out what’s happening on the screen without glasses.  And, I wear my glasses when I use my computer for homework or fun.  These above activities make up the majority of my daily routine.  Of course, I only wear reduced prescription glasses, but my eyes will only have the opportunity to positively change when I’m not wearing any glasses.

So, I’m keeping things simple right now and focusing on the simple healthy vision habits of sketch, breathe, and blink.  I also need to change my thoughts on activities that wouldn’t require glasses.  I need to somehow find value and personal benefit in doing activities such as going on walks in my neighborhood without glasses or similar activities.  I hope everyone else who is working on improving their vision is seeing positive results. 🙂

2 thoughts on “Sketch, Breathe, Blink

  1. dreamersight says:

    Mark,
    Thanks for posting — I’ve been wondering how you’re doing. I agree with your focus on doing more things without glasses when possible, and also wonder if you could get a pair or 2 that let you see worse than 20/40 but still have some correction, as “training wheels”. Maybe you could use the 20/40 pair for TV and a 20/60 pair (for example) for cooking? Just a thought. Also I suggest doing what you can to see yourself as a person without glasses, that you just need them occasionally for certain activities, and eventually won’t even need them for that — this has helped me a lot. Keep up the good work.
    Nancy

    • mark825 says:

      I just checked my glasses with a Snellen chart. I see about 20/35 with the distance pair and 20/60 with the close pair. I am currently using the distance pair for driving, school, and t.v.; I use the close pair for the computer or reading. I know the close pair could be weaker and still functional (maybe 20/80), but these glasses are not as strong as I worried they were.

      It’s kind of strange when I think about my current glasses use. When I want to see something “really clear” I put on the distance pair, which is only 20/35. I don’t really remember what it’s like to see in 20/20 or better since I haven’t worn my last optometrist-prescribed glasses in about 2 years (which let me see about 20/15). 😕

Leave a Reply

