Figuring out how to reach further improvements

6/20: Palming, flashing, swaying

  • L 1/4
  • R 1/4
  • B 2/15

6/21: Quick check of default visual acuity.

  • L 1/7
  • R 1/7
  • B 1/7

6/22: Palming, flashing, swaying.  My trapezius had been sore for a few days; I’m pretty sure it was from the stress of school finals.

  • L 1/7
  • R 1/7
  • B 1/7

6/23: Palming, flashing, swaying.  I had drank some wine earlier; I wasn’t drunk, but I was physically relaxed.  I thought it would be interesting to see if my chart readings were changed because of this.  However, my readings were the same, which supports that mental relaxation is the true solution to poor visual acuity.

  • L 1/7
  • R 1/7
  • B 1/7

6/24: Palming, flashing, swaying.

  • L 1/10
  • R 1/10
  • B 1/7

6/25: Palming, flashing, swaying.

  • L 1/7
  • R 1/7
  • B 1/7

6/26: Palming, flashing, swaying.

  • L 1/4
  • R 1/7
  • B 1/4

6/27: Palming, flashing, swaying.

  • L 1/7
  • R 1/7
  • B 1/7

Well, I’ve been doing the same type of chart practice sessions for the last few days with a couple variables added in.  One was the default visual acuity check on 6/21.  I thought this reading would be lower than the others since I didn’t utilize palming, flashing, or swaying, but my readings were the same as the other days when I did use those techniques.  Second, I was physically relaxed on 6/23 from drinking some wine, but, again, my readings were about the same as the other days.

What have these two things taught me?  My eyes can improve to a visual acuity of 1/7 fairly quickly, and physical relaxation is not the main cause of my imperfect vision.  As further support of the latter point, on days 6/20 through 6/22 my upper back was sore (I believe it was caused by stress as my exercise and stretching routines were fairly consistent), but I still had readings in the 1/7 range.

So, what do I need to do to continue improving my visual acuity?  The two solutions I can think of are to use additional relaxation techniques and to practice with the chart for longer periods of time.  In regard to the first solution, I already am using the Bates techniques that have been the most beneficial for me.  While I may incorporate other techniques as I feel led, I do not think I should focus on this solution.  Concerning the second solution, I definitely think I should be practicing longer.  Most of my above readings, and the readings from earlier days, were acquired in Snellen practice sessions of no more than 10 minutes.  While I think I should aim for 30 minute sessions for the best results, I will at least try to use the chart for 20 minutes each day.

Moreover, I think I should probably structure my sessions so that I don’t become too bored and stop early:

  • Start with 5 minutes of palming.
  • Practice in front of the chart using palming, flashing, swaying, swinging, etc. for about 10 minutes.
  • Finish with 5 minutes of palming.

This will be a general guideline, and I may increase/decrease the length of the palming or chart sections depending on how I feel each day.  However, I will still aim for around 20 minutes total time.  I remember Jacob Liberman recommended palming before and after using the vision meditations in his book, and this seems like a good way to continue my vision improvements into the rest of the day.  I’m looking forward to further improvements in my vision. 🙂

Leave a Reply

