This years vision and health goals

Wow, I didn’t realize it had been so long since my last post. 😐  Oh well, I’ll try to post more regularly.  Anyway, I thought I would state my vision-related goals for this year since this is my first post of 2012.

First, the main thing I need to focus on is making a habit of deliberately practicing good vision habits/exercises each day; preferably for about an hour total.  I only wear reduced prescription glasses and go for a few hours each day without glasses, however, this clearly isn’t enough alone to improve my vision to 20/20+.   I need to sit/stand/lie down in front of my Snellen chart and practice various eye exercises to see which ones are relaxing to my visual system that day.  Once the exercises/habits have improved my vision, I need to do my best to remain in that mental/visual state the rest of the day.

Second, I need to spend more total time each day wearing no glasses at all.  For a while, this time mainly happened in the few hours before work (on my workdays) or before brunch (on my days off).  I also take off my glasses for about 20 minutes during my lunch breaks at work.  Nonetheless, those two times combined only make up a small portion of my waking hours.  I need to figure out ways to do common home activities and maybe a few work activities where I can take off my glasses.

Third, I have been actively working on improving my posture for the last few weeks.  I already do abdominal and back exercises regularly, so the problem isn’t that my posture muscles are weak.  I have just been in the habit for several years of sitting and standing with terrible posture.  I would like to work with an Alexander Technique teacher to achieve the best possible posture at all times, but money is tight enough right now that I’m not even considering it.  What I have been doing is reading numerous articles on what good posture looks like, and I’ve been doing my best to have good posture throughout the day.  Sitting and standing with correct/natural posture is becoming easier for me, but it’s still not a habit that I have at all times.

That’s pretty much my main goals.  I know if I improve in just these three areas, my vision will also improve.  I hope that the other vision bloggers and anyone else utilizing the Bates method is seeing success. 🙂

2 thoughts on “This years vision and health goals

  1. dreamersight says:

    Mark,
    It’s good to hear from you, and I like your 3 goals. When I started going without glasses most of the time, it made me develop ways to see things clearly enough rather than reverting to glasses right away. I found the worst part was other people, like someone saying “Wow, do you need glasses? You’re holding that pretty close!” when I was reading s piece of paper in public. The most annoying was when someone would offer me their reading glasses — of course for someone dealing with myopia, this just made the image MORE blurry! I learned to say I’m improving my vision and that I’m still a little near-sighted, acting like it was no big deal, so they thought it was no big deal too. Good luck in your own vision improvement journey, and I hope this year brings you everything you hope for.
    Nancy

    • mark825 says:

      Thanks Nancy. It’s true that other people’s reactions are and will be a minor obstacle as you’ve noted, and it’s best to not make a big deal of it. I know I’ll be relearning how to do daily activities either in a different way or with more help from others. While these will be big changes from how I am used to doing things, they will benefit me in the long run. 🙂

Leave a Reply

