Review: Vision for Life: Ten Steps to Natural Eyesight Improvement

I ordered Meir Schneider’s newest book Vision for Life soon after it came out.  Overall, I really enjoyed the book and have learned much from it.

The general layout of the book is: Meir’s vision improvement story, the ten steps (exercises/habits) for better vision, how to use the computer without straining your eyes, specific programs for various errors of refraction (myopia, hyperopia, etc.), specific programs for pathology conditions (cataracts, glaucoma, etc.), and finally some words on the effect of lenses on people and the society in general.  The book also includes a few different eye charts folded in a pocket at the back of the book.  This is a clear and logical layout for the book that I think was well planned out.

I have myopia (nearsightedness) and feel that the book gave clear steps for me to take to improve my vision and lead me to a point where I don’t need corrective lenses anymore.  I enjoyed reading the beginning part of the book about Meir’s story as it shows how the Bates method can improve even difficult vision cases if the person is diligent and understands the method correctly.  Next, Schneider states his seven principles of healthy vision; these are habits or characteristics that someone with clear vision will do naturally/unconsciously.  Then, the ten steps are listed and described in detail; these are the exercises/practices that Schneider recommends to improve one’s vision and attain the seven principles of healthy vision.  They are mainly based on Bates’ methods of vision improvement, but Schneider includes some other vision and bodywork exercises that he has learned through experience and research.

For myopia, the program consisted of night walking, shifting, palming, peripheral exercises, and eye chart work.  I think this is a good plan that focuses on the problems many with myopia have- mainly staring, only using the central vision (which is reinforced by the uniform clarity corrective lenses show), and not looking for details especially in the distance.  I know that I definitely have the tendency to do these things.  Meir gives specific times for these exercises and how to adjust the time for shifting as you improve.  I feel that this plan is realistic and doable by anyone who will make the time for it each day.  It would take about one hour total to complete the myopia exercises, but it is split up so you can complete each exercise as you have time throughout the day.

I think this is a great plan that will continue to improve my vision, but I haven’t been making time for it lately.  Some final random comments I have on the book:  There are several pictures throughout the book where Meir is showing some tool or exercise and has a ridiculously large smile.  At first, I thought “that’s weird” whenever I saw these pictures, but after time I realize that the pictures are just reflections of Meir’s bright and optimistic personality :mrgreen: .  I like that Meir includes tools and exercises even if they don’t help him personally; one example is pinhole glasses which don’t work for him but do for others.  I was REALLY excited when I noticed the eye charts in the back of the book.  I know I can just find and print Snellen charts off the internet, but it just felt like an unexpected gift when I saw the charts.  Additionally, the letters are printed in a very high quality black ink that I’ve never seen from my printer at home.  I enjoy how this book was written from Schneider’s experience with vision improvement and the teaching at his School for Self-Healing.  I feel he is a trustworthy source of information on how to improve errors of refraction.  Finally, I like the fact that another good vision improvement book has been written that is largely based on Bates’ findings and methods.  The last major vision improvement book I am aware of coming out was David De Angelis’ The Secret of Perfect Vision;  this came out back in 2008 and was definitely not aligned with the Bates method.

In summary, this is an excellent modern vision improvement book that I would recommend to anyone who wants to improve or maintain their vision. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Review: Vision for Life: Ten Steps to Natural Eyesight Improvement

  1. Thanks for the review Mark! I just found out about this book through Sorrisi’s blog Seeing Beauty. I am just beginning my journey of improved vision naturally. I started last winter and was noticing subtle differences, but fell away from my practice over the summer. I am just starting up again. Best of luck with your vision practices!
    Warmly,
    Debbie

    • mark825 says:

      Thanks for the comment, Debbie! I’ve also had periods of increased or decreased practice during my vision improvement journey. Regardless, my vision has never permanently worsened during this time; it has only improved or at worse remained the same. Continued practice and giving the opportunity for your eyes to work on their own (with reduce-prescription lenses or no lenses at all) is what improves your vision in the long run. As stated above, I would definitely recommend this book especially for someone starting to learn about natural vision improvement.

      Best of luck! 🙂

  2. JMartinC4 says:

    Thanks for the review, Mark. I will have to compare notes with Mr. Schneider’s approach. BTW – I wonder if you would read and comment on my own approach to natural vision improvement, currently consisting of 16 Goals, Methods, and Rationales? Here is a link:
    http://bettereyesight.ning.com/profiles/blogs/methods-and-rationales-for-developing-normal-eyesight-in-myopes

Leave a Reply

